Thyme For Love #2

There’s a new story for the new year in Tuesday Tales. Thyme for Love takes place in Oak Grove Square, the tiny Texas town where Victoria and Toby met last year, fell in love and lived happily ever after. This time Cupid has another unsuspecting target in his sight. Join us to see what surprises are ahead for Sally, of Crafter’s Cottage.

Return to TUESDAY TALES for more great snippets. This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘gray’.

*******************

Thyme for Love
An Oak Grove Square romance

Episode #2

A storm entered from the west, coating north Texas with rain for three days in a row, unlike the usual thunderstorms that furiously blew in, boomed, dumped and blew out. It was several days before the ladies all had a chance to walk together without the chance of being drenched. The others almost couldn’t get a word in with Sally blabbering on … and on … about the upcoming herb festival.

“… and some of my vendors from Crafter’s Cottage already signed up for a booth space. The woman that makes the handmade soaps and bath salts will be there. The lady that makes jellies is already experimenting with a lavender jelly to sell. Another one found a fabric with herbs on it. She’s making up borders on dish towels. They’re just charming. Four more people called and left a message that I need to call back today. I need to decide how many vendors we can accommodate. And where they’ll be set up. And then …”

As she paused for a breath, Victoria jumped in before Sally kept on. “Is there going to be anything for the rest of us to do? Heading the committee doesn’t mean you need to do it all. There are other merchants in town you know.”

“Oh, I know,” Sally answered back. “It just gives me something to keep myself occupied. I can’t go home and just sit. I have to stay busy, so I’ve been making some calls. I’m trying to get ahead of the game, so the festival is a success for all of us.”

“That’s great,” Marie piped in. “Just make sure to leave some tasks for us.” She tipped her head and added, “If you had a man in your life, you’d have a place to use all that excess energy you have. Then you wouldn’t need to be looking for things to keep you busy.”

Sally’s chest heaved with a giant sigh. “Don’t I wish I had a man to … um … spend some energy on.” She winked to the others. “Yep. I have a few thoughts in that direction. But, finding a decent, hardworking man that I enjoy being around isn’t the easiest thing.”

“There’s lots of fine hardworking men around,” Victoria said.

OGS_john deere“Ha! If you want a farmer. I’ve seen some of these boys roll into Hank’s BBQ. Blue jeans or overalls and paunch hanging over. Riding a John Deere around all day doesn’t do wonders for some of those good ole’ boys.” She stopped mid stride and glanced at Victoria. “Now, if I could find a clone that looks like your hunk, Toby. And one with his work ethic, that doesn’t spend his time lazing around all day, now I could go for that.”

“Maybe you need to ease up a little, and do a little lazing around yourself,” Marie suggested.

“Nope. I’ve got to stay in motion. Especially on these gray, dreary days like this.”

Victoria took a swig from her water bottle. “That’s why you’re thin as a rail, all that constant moving.”

“Oh dear!” Sally took one look at her watch and started to take off. “I’ve got to go. Speaking of farmers – I’m meeting one at the shop … about five minutes ago! He’s an organic farmer outside of Justin and he grows herbs too. He’s picking up an application.”

Marie slapped her thigh and laughed. “Yeppers, there’s your ‘John Deere’ guy!”

The frosty glare Sally aimed in her direction only made her laugh harder.

“I’ll head back with you,” Victoria volunteered. “I need to make a few calls before I open up.”

OGS_truck and cowboyTwo scurried back towards town, leaving Marie to leisurely finish the walk at her own pace. As they rounded the corner where they’d split up, each going to their respective stores, they spied the pickup truck parked in front of Crafter’s Cottage. And the vision they each saw was not that of a tractor riding farm boy.

14 thoughts on “Thyme For Love #2

Leave a Reply

