Thyme for Love #8

 Tuesday Tales

Sally, a devoted business woman and owner of Crafter’s Cottage, just met an organic farmer interested in being a vendor at the upcoming herb festival. Their meeting to fill out the vendor application has suddenly turned into a dinner date.

This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘ready’. Return to TUESDAY TALES for more great snippets.

*********************

“Jeans or no jeans, I’m up for a stroll around the lake anytime,” Sally said. “Which lake? Lewisville?”

“We could go to Lewisville. Or … if you’re free this weekend, we could head up to Ray Roberts for the afternoon. I have a favorite cove I like to visit. I grill a mean hot dog, if you’re up for it. I could give Hank a run for his money behind the coals.”

“Mmmm, grilled hot dogs by the lake.” Sally rubbed her stomach in approval. “I’m in. If we can go on Sunday. I have to be in the store Saturday.”

“Sunday works for me. I was hoping to get a field tilled and planted by Saturday. I’ll be ready to chill for a few hours.”

“It sounds great. Do you like potato salad? I make a pretty decent one, if I say so myself.”

garlic braidI love potato salad. With red onions?”

“Of course, they’re the best.” Sally glanced over at his plate and pointed to the onions smothering his brisket. “I take it you like onions.”

He nodded enthusiastically. “Just a tad. They’re one of my favorite crops to grow. And garlic. I’ll have fresh onions and some garlic braids at the herb festival too. In fact, I’ll drop a bunch off for you later this week. And some potatoes. You can sample them and use them for the potato salad. Then, you can tell me what you think of them Sunday.”

“What other kinds of herbs do you have?”

“It depends on the time of year. Right now I have … oh, you know, the favorites …” At this, he broke into song, “parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme…”

A few diners looked in his direction, puzzled looks on their faces. He looked around and mumbled, “Guess I’d better not quit my day job, huh?”

herbsSally leaned forward, elbows on the table, and looked at her handsome, unabashed dinner partner. “So, do you have thyme?”

“Thyme? Time for what? For you, my dear, I have all the time in the world.”

11 thoughts on “Thyme for Love #8

  1. I love this! The playful dialogue, his willingness to burst into song in a public place and not be overly embarrassed. What a great hero and super couple. I’m looking forward to that grilled hot dog by the cove.

    Like

Leave a Reply

