F: Forgiveness

Tuesday TalesA2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0

F: FORGIVENESS

Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit. ~Peter Ustinov

Today I’m cheating. I need two blog posts today. One for the A to Z Blog Challenge (where the letter for the day is ‘F’) and one for my Tuesday Tales group, where I need to post a story snippet.

I picked ‘Forgiveness’ for the word of the day. Here is an excerpt from Thyme for Love, a romance work in progress. Tuesday Tales has a word prompt each week. The prompt for this week is ‘speak’. Here’s a little snippet to whet your appetite, which will cover both forgiveness and speak. If you like reading pieces of books in progress (most of the authors posting in Tuesday Tales have a slew of romance books already out), go to TUESDAY TALES here and read some more!

*************

In Thyme for Love, Sally, owner of Crafter’s Cottage, is in the midst of planning for a herb festival in Oak Grove Square. She meets Izzy, an organic farmer when he comes to apply for a vendor space. They start spending some time together. On their outing at the lake last weekend, their early relationship ran into a bit of a snarl …

Several days passed and Sally was finally getting back into her groove at work. Her mind was starting to cycle into business gear – how to promote, tasks she needed to do, what still needed done for the upcoming herb festival, the merchants meeting tomorrow, needing new vendors for the two empty spaces.

When the phone rang, she picked it up without a second thought. “Crafter’s Cottage.”

“Hello. It’s Izzy. Is this a good time to chat?” The unexpected sound of his voice on the other end of the line brought her busy mind screeching to an abrupt stop.

“Uh, yeah, I guess so. I mean, I’m in the middle of some things, but there aren’t any customers in the store right now.”

CNJ_Frap“Can I bring you a coffee? I need to speak to you.”

“Sure. When did you want to swing by?”

“Right now, if it’s okay. I’m over at Java Time right now, waiting to see if I should order your Frappuccino or not.”

Anxiety fluttered in her abdomen like a bevy of released butterflies. She barely had time to do a quick check in the mirror and run a brush through her hair before the bell on the front door dinged, announcing his arrival.

He walked up to the counter and handed her an icy cup. “Peace offering?”

“For what?”

“For being a jerk and not being honest with you.”

“How’s that? It’s not like we owe each other anything. If you had plans this weekend, you have plans. No biggie. We each had a life before we met each other.” She spoke big, but she also knew that she spoke stronger than the feelings her inner turmoil reflected.

“That’s true. But I wasn’t all together honest and I feel like a heel. I couldn’t come to dinner because I was going to be helping my ex move. I’d already promised her, about two months ago, and I didn’t want to say what I was doing.” He took a sip of his drink, never breaking eye contact with her. “I thought it was complicated. It turns out that it isn’t.”

“Complicated how? With her? Or with me?”

CNJ_peace offering“Both. I thought maybe I still had some feelings for her. And, I wasn’t sure you’d understand me helping her out. It’s been a hell of a week. I’ve done a lot of soul searching and I discovered I was wrong. About both things. I only care about her as if she were a distant friend. As only an ex. I have no desire for anything other than that with her. And I did you a grave injustice by not being truthful and telling you, so that you didn’t have the option to make your own decision about this. My only interest is you and seeing where the two of us go. If there is a two of us after my stupidity.”

Sally stared across the counter at him, not trusting herself to speak right then.

“Can you forgive me? I’d like to make it right between us. I only hope that I didn’t screw this up between us.”

8 thoughts on “F: Forgiveness

  1. Exes stir up a world of trouble always expecting the ex-husband to help, even after telling him to go away. Nice touch of reality that had me gritting my teeth. She should make him dangle some. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

