L: LOVE

Tuesday TalesA2Z-BADGE-0002015-LifeisGood-230_zps660c38a0Chrys N. Jay’s theme for the A to Z Blog Challenge is Love and Romance. Follow us and the posts will go directly to your inbox. Don’t worry, after April Chrys N. Jay goes back to our once a week schedule, so your inbox won’t explode.

We’re on Facebook too! https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chrys-N-Jay-romance-author/1634091186816645?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

L: LOVE

Love has no desire but to fulfill itself. To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night. To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving. ~Khalil Gibran

What is a romance theme without mentioning love? As I did last Tuesday, I’m cheating again. Today’s post is doing double duty. LOVE for ‘L’ for the A to Z Blog Challenge. And a story snippet again for my Tuesday Tales group that is writing to the prompt ‘nail’.

Enjoy the snippet, then visit TUESDAY TALES for more fun reading.

*********************

CNJ_hugThoughts rushed around in Sally’s mind like a rabid dog chasing a merry go round. Should she? Or, shouldn’t she? In all of their conversations before he’d seemed honest and forthright. He appeared sincerely apologetic right now.

But yet. As her friend Victoria, over at Serendipity was fond of saying ‘This isn’t my first rodeo.’ In a prior relationship, she also had been bit in the butt for believing a man who appeared truthful.

Back to the swing side of the inner conflict, ‘they’, the proliferation of women’s magazines and self-help books, always advocate not to bring your old baggage with you to a new relationship. She shouldn’t be jaded by the past and make Izzy pay for the sins of former lovers.

Izzy stepped closer and ran his hand down the length of her hair. “You’re taking a long time to answer. That’s making me nervous that you’re not going to give me another chance.”

“I’m torn. I want to believe you. But, it upsets me that you weren’t honest with me from the get-go. I wouldn’t have had a problem with you helping out an ex. That only makes me think more of you. Trying to hide something from me though …” she paused for effect. “That is a larger problem in my books.”

“Please,” he almost whispered. “Give me another chance. I promise if I ever do anything idiotic like that again you can nail me to a tree. From here on out – only honesty between us.”

Sally didn’t know if it was lunacy or love ruling her at that moment. She sat her cup on the counter and moved into his arms. “Another chance. From now on, only the truth.”

He enveloped her in his arms and held tight, kissing her on the top of her head. “Deal. I think we have the start of something beautiful and I don’t want to mess it up, whatever is between us.” He raised her chin up with a forefinger and bent closer, gently touching his lips on hers.

The clanging bell announced a visitor and they pulled quickly apart, both blushing at the thought of the show they almost gave the lucky – or unlucky – customer.

10 thoughts on “L: LOVE

  1. I love this. Yes, I understand her reluctance to trust him once he’s been caught lying. Although he wasn’t exactly caught. He did fess up. But wonderful men like him are hard to come by. Such a lovely blossoming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

