ROSE, A Chrys N. Jay romance

Rose

Rose LKO coverA red tailed hawk drifted in circles, catching the thermals, rising higher above the meadow with each pass. Rose raised her hand to her brow and lifted her head to follow the hawk’s relentless search.

“Oh hell no! Not my cats,” she muttered, more to herself than to the free spirit of the skies. “Go find your own dinner – away from my kiddos.” She kept her vigil, elbows resting on the wood framed gate until the bird soared to the north, where the snowcapped foothills formed a majestic background for the inhabitants of ‘Fur Babies Haven’.

A sigh escaped her lips as she gazed at the hills before her, framed with an azure and fluffs of billowy white clouds. Oh to be up there, walking the trails, without a care in the world – except to not step on any copperheads, she thought wistfully. I’d especially enjoy it if there were a special someone walking with me to enjoy the scenery …

“Oh, snap out of it Rose Lynn Graham,” she spoke aloud. “What would the fur babies do if I were running amok in nature and mooning around like a lonely lover? I’m this alone and I’ll be just fine by myself. Back to the salt mines girl.” She turned and headed back towards the kennels, the cacophony of barks getting louder with each step.

And then…the carpenter shows up…

She tried to keep from staring as they headed to the far side of the pasture. She had a hard time concentrating and hoped she wasn’t making a fool of herself. Fortunately the barking from the pens kept interrupting them and covering her moments of unfocused conversation.

“… so is it all right?”

She drew her gaze away from the muscular forearms she’d been admiring. “Uh … Sorry. What was that?”

“Is it okay if I bring my dog with me next week? He’s very good and stays right by me. He won’t be wandering or messing with any of yours.”

“Sure. I don’t see a problem with that. What kind is he?”

“Just a mutt. A little of this and a little of that. One of my buddies found him one day, wandering a country road. He was all mangy and skin and bones. He brought him to me and we’ve been buds ever since. I try to take him with me when I can.”

It seemed like the sun broke through the clouds and formed a golden halo around his head. Not only gorgeous, but he takes in neglected dogs too.

“What’s his name?”

A small grin broke across his face. “Rover.”

“Rover?” Rose laughed with delight. “That’s pretty original.”

“I know. Isn’t it?”

Her mood lightened after that. The humor and shared laughter broke the tension that Rose had been feeling with this strong attraction to the newcomer.

What’s going to happen to Rose’s world now, and the animal shelter she so desperately wants to be successful? Will the sexy carpenter, Johnnie, be her knight in shining armor…or is he a love ‘em and leave ‘em kind of guy? Will Rose find true love after all? Or will her heart be broken?

ROSE, by Chrys N. Jay, is available at Amazon and Smashwords.

5 thoughts on “ROSE, A Chrys N. Jay romance

Leave a Reply

