Starting Over – TT ‘wired’

In Starting Over, Victoria met Toby in the antique store she owns in Oak Grove Square. The man is a frustrating mix of coldhearted developer, sweet and charming hunk, and a broken-hearted little boy still mourning his grandparents.

Toby and Victoria have had a disagreement about his latest development project. They’ve patched it up and are headed out for their first formal date since their big fight. This week we’re writing to the prompt ‘wired’. Return to Tuesday Tales here, to read more snippets from the talented Tuesday Tales bunch.

Tuesday Tales

******************

“Charlotte’s granddaughter?” He looked surprised. “Am I supposed to know her?”

Victoria gave a nervous giggle. “Sorry. Guess that came out of left field. You must think I’m a ditz.”

“Well…not really. Except I’m really confused right now. I can’t think of who a Charlotte is.”

“Remember the bundle of envelopes you brought me a while back?”

“Envelopes…oh yeah…the one’s my contractor found in the house we were demoing?”

“The very ones. A few weeks ago I tracked down the granddaughter of the women – Charlotte – from the letters.” She tugged on her ear and stuttered, “…uh…guess I should invite you in and not leave you standing on the doorstep…”

“I can come in…or, if you’re ready to go, we can head for the restaurant.”

Once she was settled into the passenger seat and buckled in, Victoria continued her story about the granddaughter’s visit and how much the letters meant to her. “I did keep one as a memento,” she admitted.

CNJ driving

A gentle smile appeared on Toby’s face while a glint of amusement twinkled in his eyes. “My little softie. You really are connected with these old things from the past, aren’t you?”

“They’re my life. This store and these pieces from long ago saved me. When I needed something to care about, they were my lifeline.”

“Something tells me that this wasn’t a new fascination though. I have a feeling you’ve always been attached to sentimental things.”

“Guilty as charged,” Victoria confessed. “I really can’t remember a time when I didn’t appreciate heirlooms and collectibles.”

“Unlike me. I think we’re wired differently for how we feel about the past.”

“Well…that’s what you profess. But if you really didn’t care at all, you wouldn’t have brought any items to me and the store. You would have simply tossed them in the dumpster.”

“Cash, baby. It was all about the cash.”

“Ha! So you say. But…there was no cash transaction with Charlotte’s letters. You brought them to me because you thought I’d like them. No cha-ching value for you there.”

“You’ve got me. Well…maybe big, bad developers aren’t always what they seem.”

Victoria turned towards the driver and looked intently at him. “No,” she murmured softly, “it seems that I have misjudged you on a few matters.”

A warm flush flooded her body as she realized how she wanted to stroke his cheeks and cover him with caresses. This is going to be a long dinner, she groaned silently.

11 thoughts on “Starting Over – TT ‘wired’

  1. I’m with Vicki. The heck with the main course, let’s go straight to dessert. These two have been dancing around each other for a long time. Love that she’s admitting she was a bit wrong about him. Great couple, great scene.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

