Manifesting Love – picture prompt

TT_banner

This is a new work in progress, The Manifesting Love Club. Four friends. All single. Some looking for love. Some not. Join these ladies as they take their friendship into a new direction, to manifest love.

Heather is the first of the group that finds love – with someone unexpected. Brian’s a clown. A real life clown. His humor is the spark that Heather needs in her life at the moment.

This week we’re writing to a picture prompt. These snippets are short. Only 300 words. We’re jumping ahead a bit in the story for this prompt.

Return to TUESDAY TALES to read the rest of the story snippets.

TT_082916

“Being the nature girl you are, I’m surprised you’ve never been to Turner Falls.”

“My friend, Tracey’s talked about it. She and her husband used to go camping there before he died. I’ve never been though.”

“Then you, my dear, are in for a treat today. They have the largest waterfall in Oklahoma. Seventy seven feet tall. The scenery there is amazing. But, I want to make a quick stop first, to show you my favorite peaceful retreat. This is where I come when I need to get away and recharge.” He slowed the minivan to a crawl and turned onto a dirt road.

Heather gasped when she saw the view. “Look at the sunlight streaming across the road. It’s almost like it’s anointed with serenity.”

Brian eased to a stop, giving her time to enjoy the peaceful, rural scene in front of them.

He stepped on the gas to continue the journey and a serenade of small bits of gravel hit the undercarriage. Heather glanced at the cloud of swirling dust behind them, enveloping the road in its murky plume. “I see why you didn’t want to drive your Corvette today.”

“That’s why. You get the Clown-mobile today. Hope you don’t mind.”

She grinned in response. “Not at all. I can live with your offbeat transportation for some occasions.”

“I hope so. Because despite the unconventional ride today, I’m hoping to make it a special day for you.”

“It’s always special with you. I’ve laughed more you than I ever have before.” She patted his hand resting on the console and giggled. “I think I’m even used to you wearing your clown nose in public.”

“You’ll be proud of me. I left it at home. Today I only brought a secret arsenal of tempting items for our lunch.”

4 thoughts on “Manifesting Love – picture prompt

Leave a Reply

