O: O Captain! My Captain! #AtoZChallenge

O Captain! My Captain!
V.L. Locey joins us today to bring us a snippet from her book, O Captain! My Captain!
Being a single working mother isn’t easy. Just ask Maggie Charles. She`s juggling a job she hates, a rebellious teenage son, and the aftereffects of an abusive first marriage. There isn’t room in her life for a love affair, not that anyone would want to romance someone her age anyway, right? So why, after all these months, when she runs into the strapping Wildcats` captain at a charity event, does the sight of Derrick Andersson leave her so breathless once again? Is that really desire burning in the captain`s green eyes when he looks at her? Is it possible for a couple of been-there-and-done-that’s to find love the second time around?
o captain
“Oh yah, you telling that little girl to tell me,” he recalled, waving a hand the size of a hubcap from me to him and back again. “You think that’s a grown-up, womanly way to handle it?”
“Maybe not, but at least I made the effort!” I shot back, losing my train of thought as I stared into his eyes. They had small flecks of gold amid the jade.
“Oh yah, yah, yah. You made the effort! That was some piss poor effort,” he huffed. “It’s a good thing that I didn’t really think you was all that sexy to begin with.”
That stung a lot more than I wanted to admit. “Oh yeah? Well, I didn’t think you were all that sexy either with your face hair and crazy Scandinavian Rose Nylund manner of talking!”
We stared at each other for the longest moment of my life. And then some bizarre need to kiss each other grabbed us both and threw us into each other. My back hit the wall of the elevator. Derrick’s arms were wrapped around me like twin bands of steel. His mouth was moving over mine, seeking and tasting. I shoved my fingers into his hair to pull him down to a less neck-wrenching level, then I gave him the access he had been searching for.
4 thoughts on “O: O Captain! My Captain! #AtoZChallenge

Leave a Reply

